Bad Winemutt

11Jan08

I’ve been a bad winemutt this week – busy taking care of my real mutt while Paul is off shooting a commercial in LA to keep us in kibble. I had the best of intentions to write last night, but my first Netflix-ed DVD of The Wire Season 2 arrived in the mail yesterday and I spent the evening in front of the TV, wondering who got to keep that stevedore stained glass window at the end of the season.

My profile of Alie Shaper, an engineer-turned-winemaker is on Lenndevours.com. Carrie and I came up with a new coinage after we met her: “inspressing.” It’s a combination of “inspiring” and “depressing” – inspiring because she’s doing something so great, but depressing because we’re not.

And earlier this week I got our Unit 3 syllabus! Exciting. Fairly random that we’re starting with Alsace and Beaujolais, but I’m assuming it’s a scheduling issue – maybe we’re getting a guest lecture on Bordeaux from Michael Broadbent and he can only make it on the 22nd? Hah. In any case, I’d much prefer to ease back into the world of disciplined wine tasting with some refreshing Rieslings and Beaujolais rather than going balls-to-the-wall first thing with Bordeaux.

Date Class Topic
Tues., Jan. 15 Alsace and Beaujolais
Tues., Jan. 22 Bordeaux 1
Tues., Jan. 29 Bordeaux 2
Tues., Feb. 5 Rhône Valley
Tues., Feb. 12 Burgundy
Tues., Feb. 19 Northern Italy
Tues., Feb. 26 Central Italy
Tues, March 4 Southern Italy
Tues., March 11 North America 1
Tues., March 18 North America 2
Tues., March 25 Central & E. Europe
Tues., April 1 Spain 1
Tues., April 8 Spain 2/ Portugal
Tues., April 15 South Africa, Asia, Israel
Tues., April 22 Loire Valley
Tues., April 29 South of France
Tues., May 6 Germany
Tues., May 15 South America
Tues., May 20 Australia 1
Tues., May 27 Australia 2
Tues., June 3 Mock exam
Tues., June 10 9:00am-5:00pm Theory & Tasting Exam

Oh, and by the way, don’t think I haven’t noticed the lack of visual aides on my site to date. I promise, I’m working on getting some pictures up. Images TK.

No Responses Yet to “Bad Winemutt”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

